The Wired Mom: Social Networking Stuff.

by , under personal, The Wired Mom

First, there’s a repost going around Facebook that’s sort of overstating a new feature. Secondly, Twitter got a bit of a revamp- let’s call it New New Twitter (Which I guess would make it the Ramona of Twitter versions). But let’s go over Facebook first.

ALL THE PHONE NUMBERS of your contacts are now on facebook! go to the top right of the screen, click on ACCOUNT, click on EDIT FRIENDS, left side of screen and click CONTACTS. you will see ALL PHONE NUMBERS FROM YOUR CELL PHONE (FB friends or not) have been published. TO REMOVE, go to the right column below Phonebook Contacts, and click on “this page.” please repost this on your status, so your friends can remove their numbers and thus prevent abuse if they do not want them published. -The copy/paste I’ve been seeing all day.

When you use Facebook’s app on your mobile, it’ll ask if you want to sync your contacts with Facebook. If you decided to do this, all the contacts from your phone will show up in Facebook. That way, when you get phone calls from FB friends, you’ll see their profile pics. And when your future contacts sign up for FB, it’ll let you suggest you add them.

This information is not viewable to the world. The page that you see with the numbers is only visible to you. If you want to opt-out, go to your FB app and turn off the sync feature. Then, follow the directions in the message and your phone’s contacts will no longer be listed.

You’ll still be able to see anyone who put their cell phone number in FB and shared it with you. If you’d prefer that nobody see your phone number, from the Accounts drop down menu, click on Privacy Preferences, click on customize settings, and if you scroll all the way down, it’ll let you select who can see your phone number. This applies to your profile and to who can see it from the Contacts list. It keeps pulling it from my mobile app, so I set it to be visible to “Only Me”. Voila. I even had TheBoy verify it for me.

The other news story of the day is that New Twitter got an upgrade to New New Twitter. Remember how you used to have a tab for @mentions and another to browse through Retweets (you could see all RT’s, posts of yours that were RT’d and RT’s by others)? No more. Now the @username tab has absolutely anything that has to do with you. Yes, it is now the most narcissistic (yet utterly useless) tab you’ll find. In it, you can see a stream of every @mention, who followed you, and who retweeted or favorited your tweets.

I will say that the new @username tab has a lot of good information- but there’s no way to refine it. I liked being able to see a list of what tweets of mine were retweeted, as well as all my @mentions & @replies together. Twitter, if you see this, a drop down would be nice.

There’s also the activity tab. Want to see who the people you follow, retweet and favorite? Now you can spy on them. I use this phrase intentionally, because it’s more than a little creepy. Do you really think that Wil Wheaton wants everyone to see someone he follows? No. Hopefully there’s an opt out for that that doesn’t make you make your entire profile private. (Yes, I know I can just see who they follow by clicking on their profile… but then that means I have to want to spy, not just have it handed to me by Twitter)

Obviously, I’m not entirely happy with these changes. I don’t mind the @mememe tab as I’m calling it. I just wish there was a way to refine it so that I can see what I’m looking for right now, not everything.

Your thoughts? I don’t mind changes to websites- but the lack of refinement and spying factor of the Activity tab make the Twitter changes a bit odd to me.

Update 8/11: I logged in this morning to find that I no longer have New New Twitter with my account. Obviously, I can’t say what’s going on with it- if maybe they’re testing it through different accounts. But at least I can find what I’m looking for quickly. Phew!

Update 11/8: New Twitter is back. And the @username tab now has a button you can check to only show mentions.